Historic Preservation Commission


Map of Local Historic Districts and Conservation Districts.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Sean Lutes, President
  • John Burns, Vice President
  • Amy Paget, Secretary
  • Julie Ginn
  • Kevin Klinker
  • Shawna McCully
  • Stephanie Rogers
  • Alec Williams
  • Ann Amato
Historic Preservation Officer: Dann Keiser

About the Commission

In 1993, the Historic District Ordinance established the Lafayette Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) and the ability for the Commission to designate Local Historic Districts. This ordinance was adopted for the promotion of economic growth of designated historic districts and all other parts of the City of Lafayette through the encouragement of tourism, business, residential and commercial investment and to foster civic pride in those historic areas.

Member Appointment

The ordinance created a 9 member commission appointed by the Mayor and City Council. The Commission strives to consist of:

  • 1 architect or architectural historian
  • 1 contractor
  • 1 member of the City Council
  • 1 regional or local historian
  • 5 additional citizens of Lafayette, 3 of whom must be the owner of a historic building listed on the National Register of Historic Places

Members serve 3 year terms. A Historic Preservation Officer also aids as staff to the Commission. The Historic Preservation Officer is an architect appointed by the City to provide technical advisement to the Commission & the staff. 


Preservation Commission consists of 3 subcommittees:

  • Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) / Guidelines Committee
  • District Committee
  • Public Relations/Education Committee


The Historic Preservation Commission is responsible for ensuring that the Historic District Ordinance 2010-11 (PDF) is followed by reviewing applications for Certificates of Appropriateness (COAs). The HPC also provides guidance in the maintenance, rehabilitation, reconstruction, and development of historic buildings.

In addition, the Commission also works with civic organizations, the public, and city officials to safeguard the welfare and preservation of the architectural integrity of Local Historic Districts in the City of Lafayette.